A new year and new adventures

A few months have gone by and a lot has been going on. I suspended my Instrument training in November (mentioned previously). The main reason was I had too much going on in my personal life. The lessons weren’t being productive. Even though I was flying the sim and as a EAA member the sim time cost me nothing, just the cost of the instructors time, I did not have the mental focus to prepare the lesson and do a proper debrief. At other times in my life I may have been depressed about that. The last part of 2012 was a real test to determined if I learned how to prioritize what I want and then be comfortable with the outcome. 

I really want to be an instrument rated pilot. At this time though, I really wanted to get back into the Air Force Reserve or Air National Guard. That goal is something I had thought about for about 3 years. Two or three years ago, it didn’t seem like the right thing for me. I was out of shape physically and the retraining to get my old job back was too great with my kids who were between the 3rd and 6th grades. I also want to be a CAP pilot. After going to airshows a couple of times a year, I would reflect on being a tourist looking at the Military aircraft. I don’t like being a tourist.

At Sep 2012 at the California Capital Airshow in Mather, CA, I watched the Thunderbird Crew Chiefs assist with the engine start and aircraft launch. I used to do that job. Not with the Thunderbirds but in the KS Air National Guard. I decided then, I wanted to get back in.

I began running, doing sit-ups, and pushups. All the exercises I hate. I met with the Recruiter, did the over 40 physical and the long process of getting my records retrieved for my prior Service. On Dec 4, 2012, I took the Oath of Enlistment. I had my first UTA a couple weeks ago. I recently got my Military ID. I still don’t have uniforms. That will come in time.

I was a Crew Chief back in the day when I was active duty and ANG. Since I had been out for so long (17 years), to get my old job back, I have to the take the Crew Chief Tech school again. All Crew Chiefs go through the same school for the first 6 weeks. It’s the fundamentals of aircraft maintenance and learning the Air Force way for maintenance paperwork. Yes things change over time. At my first UTA a couple weeks ago, I spoke with a couple of guys who just finished Tech School. I asked them about what they learned and asked if certain items were still taught. After the discussion it seems that time and money would be best spent to do a little OJT and skip the first 6 weeks.

The second part of Crew Chief school is airframe specific. My AF Reserve unit operates the C-5. That aircraft is new to me and I fully agree, I need to go to that school. It is another 6 weeks. 

I ordered some study materials for the Crew Chief 5 skill level and read them and the Technical Orders I can find online to refresh my memory and bring me up to speed on procedures. If my unit feels I still need both schools, I’m prepared to do that. I should do well in Tech School after the studying I’m doing.

I’m really looking forward getting past the new guy phase and being a functional member of the unit. Why the break in service? I’ll save that for another day. For now, I’m only looking ahead.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.