Flight to the mountains

I went on a trip with an instructor to Truckee (KTRK) and South Lake Tahoe (KTVL) from Placerville (KPVF) earlier this week. We left about 9:30 am and arrived back at KPVF just before noon. No time to stop and visit. Just taxi back and takeoff. I wanted to get my 3 takeoffs and landings in, fly some cross country and mountain flying with an  instructor and do a couple of approaches. I don’t know think the individual legs were long enough to count as a cross country but it was long enough to plan for an airport out of my normal area. It didn’t officially start my instrument flight training but I wanted to do an approach to get my interest going in pursuing the ticket. There was a lot of work and the use of the VOR’s, GPS, and autopilot make me appreciate the need for as many hours as the rating requires.

The pieces of the plan are coming together. Creative financing will help pay for the rating. Now I just need to dedicate the time. I’ve read a lot and watch a few video’s about choosing an instructor. I’ve never found those very helpful. As long as the instructor has a positive attitude, it really boils down to who can I manage schedules with the best.  I’ll fly with another instructor (who’s schedule may work best) just to verify we don’t have obviously different perspectives.  There is vacation time to deal with in June. Then in July, I think it’s time to get serious.  Monday and Wednesday evenings and maybe a weekend here or there.

That’s my story and I’m going to change it to meet conditions as necessary.

This entry was posted in Flying. Bookmark the permalink.