Next phase?

Having been a little more than a month since my BFR, I have thought about what is next for my flying and for this blog. I have a lot of aviation related topics happening each week. Last April/May my 12 year old son and I joined the Civil Air Patrol (CAP). I could go on and on about why I joined (but not today). I fly about every other week if nothing more than a few turns in the pattern. I’d like to venture farther than home base. Summer vacation, getting the family back into the routine of school, Boy Scouts, CAP, etc. competes with flying for top spot on the priority sheet.

Time for a list (in no particular order) of things I need to do or would like to do.

  • Fly (at least to a neighboring airport) once or twice monthly
  • Create a one or two day program for Boy scouts to get their Aviation Merit badge
  • Attend an Instrument ground school
  • Get an instrument rating
  • Contribute to the CAP Aerospace Education Program
  • Become a Mission Scanner observer, pilot in CAP
  • Take cadets to the PCAM airshow
  • Buy an airplane (with hanger)
  • Take Cadets to the Capital airshow
  • Complete Technicians rating in CAP
  • Understand Senior member progression in CAP
  • Become a more proficent VFR pilot
  • Keep going to work

With a list like that, who has time for work. Next steps: get a little more detail about each (time, expense, effort), priortize, then put it on the calendar.

This entry was posted in Basic, CAP, Flying, Training. Bookmark the permalink.